World Senior Curling Championships begin Saturday

20 Senior men’s teams and 14 senior women’s teams from around the world will compete in the 2013 World Senior Curling Championships which get underway on Saturday13 April 2013, in Fredericton, Canada.

The championships will run until Saturday 20th April and the men’s and women’s events will be staged simultaneously in the Grant Harvey Centre in Fredericton, New Brunswick.

This is the 12th edition of formally-sanctioned WCF World Senior Curling Championships. Games are limited to eight-ends and in order to be eligible to play, players must not be less than 50 years of age by the end of the 30th day of June of the year immediately preceding the year in which the WSCC is to take place.

14 nations are represented in the women’s event, which is split into two groups.
Group A: Austria; Canada; Ireland; Japan; New Zealand; Russia and USA
Group B: Australia; Czech Republic; Finland; Italy; Scotland; Sweden and Switzerland.

The men are also split into two groups. Group A: Czech Republic; France; Ireland; Italy; Japan; Latvia; New Zealand; Norway; Scotland and Switzerland. Group B: Australia; Canada; Denmark; England; Finland; Germany; Netherlands; Russia; Sweden and the USA.

In the men’s competition this year, defending World Senior Champions Ireland return with 2013 Senior gold medalist John-Jo Kenny as alternate. However, the rest of their line-up has completely changed and they will now be skipped by Olympian Peter Wilson, who represented Great Britain at the 1998 Olympic Winter Games in Nagano, Japan.

Wilson is joined by another Olympian in the form of New Zealand skip Hans Frauenlob, a former Pacific-Asia champion and who will also be playing in the Mixed Doubles Curling Championship in Fredericton as well.

Scotland line up with a vastly experienced team, with skip David Hay the 1991 World Men’s Champion; 2002 Olympian Norman Brown as third, 1980 World Junior Curling Champions Andrew McQuistin as second and Hugh Aitken as lead and current World Women’s Champion, Eve Muirhead’s father, Gordon, as alternate, a World Men’s Curling champion himself in 1999.

Amongst other notable athletes is Switzerland who have 1984 World Men’s silver medalist Werner Attinger as skip, while Norway will be skipped by two time European Curling Championship bronze medalist Tormod Andreassen. Nine time Pacific-Asia champion and last year’s WSCC and PACC bronze medalist, Hugh Millikan will also return to skip Australia.

In the women’s championship, defending champions, Canada, will this year be skipped by Edmonton’s Cathy King who was recently inducted into the Canadian Curling Hall of Fame. King is the first skip to win Canadian championships at the junior, women’s and senior levels.

Last year’s silver medalists, Scotland, will be skipped by 1994 World Women’s Curling Championship silver medalist, Christine Cannon. She is joined by two-time World Senior champion, Swedish skip Ingrid Meldahl, will be looking to improve upon last year’s bronze medal at this championship.

1983 World Women’s Curling Championship gold medallist, Erika Müller, will be looking for gold in the Seniors as she skips Switzerland, while all of the other participating teams will be looking to use their years of experience to challenge for the World Senior title.

In last year’s event, which took place in Taarnby, Denmark, Ireland (skip John-Jo Kenny) won the senior men’s title, Canada (skip Kelly Robertson) took silver and Australia (skip Hugh Millikin) won bronze.

In the women’s event, Canada (skip Heidi Hanlon) won the senior women’s gold medal, Scotland (skip Barbara Watt) took silver and Sweden (skip Ingrid Meldahl) won bronze.

For more information about the event, visit:


WCF Twitter Fan Feed: @worldcurling
Twitter Hashtag: #wscc2013

Share this page

Warning: mysql_fetch_array() expects parameter 1 to be resource, boolean given in /home/cevents/public_html/events/_includes/functions.php on line 923
Official WCF Partners
Presenting Sponsor